Printer Destruction

Royalty Free Sound Effects - Printer hit, smash, break, destruction


Quick Look:

  • Files: 44
  • Clips: 228
  • Size: ~351MB unzipped
  • Format: WAV
  • Fidelity: 96k/24bit
  • Channes: 22 stereo + 22 mono
  • Metadata: SoundMiner, UCS

Printer Destruction is the result of destroying a desktop Canon MX450 printer/scanner with a 4lb Collins Axe.  The collection also includes the printer being dropped from a height of 4 feet, as well as the sounds of rummaging through the debris.  The Collins Axe impacts are broken up into general hits, and glass impact subcategories, based on whether the main focus of the sound is plastic impacts or glass impacts - though both are present in most of the sounds.

The files are also chronological by subcategory.  So, you can follow the journey from the first hits before too much debris is created, to the final death-blows when glass, plastic, metal, and electronic parts are rattling around the inside of the chassis, and flying all around the room as debris.


Fienup used a RODE NT4 stereo XY microphone and a shure KSM109, with a Sound Devices 633 recorder.  All files were cleaned up, edited, and mastered in iZotope Rx and Pro Tools Ultimate.

There are 22 stereo and 22 mono files.  These are identical iterations, except they were recorded with different micophones.  The MONO versions are lebeled as such in their filename.  Listen to each to determine which best suites your timbral needs.

Because the stereo files were recorded with an XY pair, the left and right channels can be panned to the center without phase issues.  Or you can just choose the left or right channel.  Options abound from these 2 simple file deliveries.


Metadata was embedded using SoundMiner Plus.  Metadata includes; Artwork, Filename, Desription, Keywords, Duration, Sample Rate/Bit Depth, FXName, Category, SubCategory, CatID, Designer, Library, Location, Manufacturer, Microphone, and more.

UCS Compliant

This collection uses the Universal Category System in borh the file name and the CatID metadata.  For more information about UCS, please visit

Check out the track list for more details.

This collection provides some new and interesting sounds, as well as a ton of variations so your soundtrack never gets old!  All Soundopolis tracks include metadata tags so they are easy to find using any search engine. Collections come in easily downloadable zip files.